Translation provided by Google Translator Google Logo| Translation Disclaimer
Reduce the text sizeRestore the text sizeIncrease the text size
Welcome Peterborough Logo
Generic image of Peterborough
Food and Shopping
Personal Finance
Children services
Seniors Services
Places of Worship
Getting Settled


PIP Logo

What is the Provincial Government?

300 Water StThe Premier, cabinet ministers, and all other elected members together make up the Legislative Assembly and are called Members of Provincial Parliament (MPP). There are 106 MPPs. You can contact your MPP if you have concerns about the Government of Ontario or if you require assistance accessing provincial programs and services.

The Legislature is the name of the Legislative Assembly together with the Lieutenant Governor.

The provinces' areas of responsibility, defined in the Constitution Act, 1867, include health, child welfare, municipal government, highways, labour, property and civil rights, and education. Service Ontario can provide information on any program or service of the Government of Ontario. They have an office in Peterborough located at 300 Water Street (Robinson Place).

Can't find what you need? Visit our FAQ section