Translation provided by Google Translator Google Logo| Translation Disclaimer
Welcome Peterborough Logo
Generic image of Peterborough
Food and Shopping
Personal Finance
Children services
Seniors Services
Places of Worship
Getting Settled


PIP Logo

What is the Federal Government?

Federal governmentCanada is a constitutional monarchy. It has a system of parliamentary government. Parliament has three parts: the Queen, the House of Commons and the Senate.

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is our Head of State. The Governor General of Canada is the Queen's representative in Canada.

The House of Commons consists of all elected Members of Parliament (MP), while the Senate is made up of Senators appointed by the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister is the leader of the political party with the most MPs. There are 338 MPs. You can contact your MP if you have concerns about the Government of Canada or if you require assistance accessing federal programs and services.

The federal areas of responsibility under our Constitution include citizenship, foreign policy, national defence, currency, banking, and the postal service.

Can't find what you need? Visit our FAQ section